At the end of the presentation the visitor will find a small Museum Shop, filled with articles related to the Great Siege and the Order of St John. We support local produce and products and thus helping the environment and economy.
The building housing The Great Siege Events Museum was the last to be undertaken by the Knights of Malta. In 1776 it was decreed at the Chapter General of the Order convened by Grand Master Emmanuel de Rohan that the foundation of a Bibliotheca Publica was ordered, where the main collection of manuscripts and books would be kept. Grand Master De Rohan decreed the building of new premises to the designs of Stefano Ittar, a Polish-born architect residing in Italy. The building, situated in the heart of Malta's capital city, Valletta, was completed in 1796 but two years later the Order of St. John was expelled from Malta by Napoleon and during the French 2-year period, the books remained at their former premises. It was only in 1812 - during the British administration - that the new premises were officially inaugurated by the British Civil Commissioner, Sir Hildebrand Oakes. From then on, the Malta Public Library, as it was then called, continued to flourish with a number of new acquisitions. The building is an experience in itself. Its architecture, with its unique vaulted arches, projects the beauty of Maltese palazzos.